Genome Prairie logo

News & Media

Genome Prairie Appoints Two New Board Members

October 5, 2022

Dr. Terry Fonstad, and the Honourable JoAnne Buth

Genome Prairie Inc. announced today the appointment of two new members to its Board of Directors, the Honourable JoAnne Buth and Dr. Terrance (Terry) Fonstad.

“I am delighted to announce the addition of two outstanding and accomplished individuals to our already esteemed Board of Directors,” said Mike Cey, Genome Prairie CEO. “The appointment of Ms. Buth and Dr. Fonstad will help Genome Prairie take another important step in its mission of driving genomics research in the Prairies.”

Ms. Buth, who studied at the University of Winnipeg and the University of Manitoba, has an extensive professional background. She led departments in Manitoba Agriculture, Soils, and Crops, and served as President of the Canola Council of Canada and as the CEO of the Winnipeg-based Canadian International Grains Institute (CIGI). In 2012, Ms. Buth was appointed to the Canadian Senate, where she served for two years in the Upper Chamber.

“JoAnne has a remarkable record of achievement for the Manitoba agriculture sector mainly through her tremendous work as a public servant and leader in many leading advocacy organizations in Western Canada,” said Cey.

“We look forward to Ms. Buth’s guidance and support as Genome Prairie works towards bringing more genome-related projects and activities to Manitoba.”

Dr. Terry Fonstad currently serves as Associate Vie-President Research (Ethics and Infrastructure) at the University of Saskatchewan. A Fellow of Engineers Canada and honorary Fellow of Geosciences Canada, Dr. Fonstad has devoted much of his academic career to environmental research for animal agriculture. His work is the basis for many regulations and policies regarding siting and permitting intensive livestock operations in the Prairie region.

“Terry has also obtained a remarkable career of achievements as a leader in environmental research for animal agriculture and landmark leadership in DNA gene sequencing,” said Cey.

“We anticipate Dr. Fonstad will play a key role in providing Genome Prairie with another layer of expertise, especially concerning regulatory matters in western Canada.”

The 3-year Board appointments of Ms. Buth and Dr. Fonstad are retroactive to September 29, 2022. The appointments coincide with the Board departures of David Migadel and Mike Lesiuk, whose terms expired this summer. Genome Prairie extends its thanks to both David and Michael for their exemplary service.

For more information about Dr. Fonstand and Ms. Buth or this news release, please contact

News Archives​